Book quotes #1 (Fault in our stars)

“Cover me!” Augustus said as he jumped out from behind the wall and raced toward the school. Isaac fumbled for his controller and then started firing while the bullets rained down on Augustus, who was shot once and then twice but still ran, Augustus shouting, “ YOU CAN’T KILL MAX MAYHEM!”  and with a final flurry of button combinations, he dove onto the grenade, which detonated beneath him. His dismembered body exploded like a geyser and the screen went red. A throat choice said, “MISSION FAILURE,” but Augustus seemed to think otherwise as he smiled at his remnants on the screen. He reached into his pocket, pulled out a cigarette, and shoved it between his teeth. “Saved the kids,” he said.

“Temporary, ” I pointed out.

“All salvation is temporary,” Augustus shot back. “I bought them a minute. Maybe that’s the minute that buys them an hour, which buys them a year. No one’s gonna buy them forever, Hazel Grace, but my life bought them a minute. And that’s not nothing.”

(The Fault In Our Stars, John Green. ©2012, Penguin Group)

11 thoughts on “Book quotes #1 (Fault in our stars)

    1. It’s my all time favorite book and I’m so excited to finally have a hardback copy to write in like crazy. You definitely need to borrow it.

      1. Very very much. The movie was great but the book has such amazing moments you can’t capture on film. It’s all in the way it’s written.

  1. Such a powerful book. So moving. My favourite quote is the infinities one. I think I posted it on my bog as soon as I finished the book haha. What did you think of the film?

    1. I think the film did well enough to not ruin the story. All in all, it was a good film. But there is nothing like the book. As Jodi Picoult comments- “Filled with staccato bursts of humor and tragedy.” You can’t capture that on screen as well as you can with words.

      1. I think The Godfather is the only time I can think of a film being better than the book. I did like the choices for the two main leads. There were only two small things that bugged me about the film. One was that in the book the assistant makes it clear she will leave as she is so appalled. That wasn’t done in the film. And when Hazel and her mum go to Amsterdam the dad is left behind. In the book it’s made clear he’ll have a great time with beer and pizza. Small touches but noticeable to me.

      2. Usually I’m ok with small details being missing as long as the mood and integrity of the story remain in tact. But some missing details are unforgivable…like making Dobby go through the whole Harry Potter collection without Winky and his underground band of rebel elves.

      3. true. Those two points stood out for me, especially the first one. It’s such a shocking scene, anyone with an ounce of integrity would make it clear they would resign. In the film that’s not made clear and if I’d seen the film without knowing that it would have really bothered me.

Penny for your thoughts...

